Spoofed Caller ID

April 30, 2006 at 7:03 am (Random Thoughts)

I got a phone call this morning from the phone number 1-000-000-0000. They called me a 6:10am and it rang about three times. I picked up my phone and the disconnected right as I hit the button to answer it. I was curious as to who would be calling me with a fake number like that just after 6am. After Googleing it, I found that I am not the only one with this problem. It looks like CID spoofing is a big problem now. With the right equipment you can make it look like you are calling from any phone number you choose.

I wonder how long it will take the credit card collection industry to figure out they can spoof their number to look like your mother is calling to make you answer. Just one more thing for Dave Ramsey to rant about.

Leave a comment